Skip to content

“Covering the Bases” with Ryan Bull

Jan 29, 2013, 10:19 AM EST

source:

Photo by Matt Cashore

Ryan Bull is a sophomore outfielder for the Irish from Eden Prairie, Minn. I sat down with the switch-hitting outfielder for a brief Q&A session in the first installment of our “Covering the Bases” series.

Q: Who was your favorite baseball player as a kid?

A: I’d probably have to say growing up I was a big fan of Mark McGwire. I just really liked the way he swung the bat.

Q: What player do you model your game after?

A: I really like the way Joe Mauer approaches the game, and the way he swings the bat. I always look at him as someone I can try to emulate and aspire to be like.

Q: Who is your favorite pro team?

A: I’d have to go with my hometown Minnesota Twins. I’ve just grown up around them and like watching them play.

Q:  Describe your pre-game ritual.

A: I don’t really have anything that I necessarily do before a game as a ritual. I just like to get a dynamic warm-up in and get my arm warmed up.

Q: Do you have a batting box ritual?

A: Yeah, I step in from either the right or left side, and tap the bottom of the plate and both outside corners.

Q: What is your favorite pre-game meal?

A: The night before a game, I like to get pasta or something that will sustain me over the next day just to give me the energy to perform.

Q: What is your favorite moment of your baseball career so far?

A: Last year against Pittsburgh, when I hit my first home run. It was a walk-off, and it was just a really exciting experience.

Q: What is your major and a favorite class?

A: I’m a Finance major, and I would have to say the Finance class I am taking right now with Professor Ackerman is probably one of my favorite classes I’ve taken so far.

Q: Is it easier to hit a 90 mph fastball or a wiffleball curveball?

A: That’s a tough one. I don’t know. I probably have to say a straight fastball would probably be easier to hit than somebody who knows how to use that wiffleball.

Q: Do you have any hobbies off the field?

A: I actually really enjoy building model rockets. I got into that as a kid at a camp, and I just think it’s kind of a fun thing to do on the side.

Q: What is your favorite spot on campus?

A: The Grotto is a nice place to be by myself and pray, and it just serves as a sanctuary.

Q: What is the best nickname on the team and who has it?

A: Breck Ashdown goes by “Branch.” It’s pretty funny.

Q: What is your favorite phrase from one of the coaches?

A: Every single time we finish our in-and-out drill, Coach Woods always tells us to “Hustle and get after it,” and it just sparks us and gets us ready for the game.

About UNDerground

Welcome to UNDerground, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame athletics. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the athletic department, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Fighting Irish on YouTube

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.