Skip to content

“Covering the Bases” with Phil Mosey

Feb 7, 2013, 10:44 AM EDT

photo by Kaitlyn Kiely photo by Kaitlyn Kiely

Phil Mosey is an infielder and catcher for the Irish baseball team. I spoke with the Fishers, Ind. native about his interests both on and off the diamond.

Q: Who was your favorite baseball player as a kid?

A: Derek Jeter, for sure.

Q: What player do you model your game after?

A: I’m a pretty big Chipper Jones fan. I try to model his old-school style of play.

Q: Who is your favorite pro team?

A: The [New York] Yankees.

Q:  Do you have a pregame ritual?

A: Yeah. I just eat as many egg sandwiches and PB&J’s that I can. I try to carbo-load.

Q: Do you have a batting box ritual?

A: Yeah, I basically get in and out of the box pretty much the same way every time.

Q: What is your favorite moment of your baseball career so far?

A: I guess any time we sweep a series in BIG EAST conference play is a highlight for me.

Q: Is it easier to hit a 90 mph fastball or a wiffleball curveball?

A: Definitely a 90 mph fastball.

Q: Do you have any hobbies off the field?

A: Larping, for sure. (Live-Action Role-Playing is an activity where participants act out characters’ actions from role-playing games).

Q: What is your major and a favorite class?

A: My major is FTT (Film, Television, and Theatre), and my favorite class is Video Games and Gender Roles.

Q: What is your favorite spot on campus?

A: My favorite spot on campus is probably my futon.

Q: What is the best nickname on the team and who has it?

A: The best nickname on the team is “The Cinnamon Dragon.” That would be Forrest Johnson.

Q: Do you have a nickname?

A: People call me “Get Philly” or “Brosey” sometimes.

Q: What is your favorite phrase from one of the coaches?

A: Coach Cheek, our strength and conditioning coach, says “If you want to be strong, pick up heavy things often.”

About UNDerground

Welcome to UNDerground, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame athletics. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the athletic department, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.