Skip to content

“Covering the Bases” with Conor Biggio

Feb 13, 2013, 10:48 AM EDT

photo by Matt Cashore photo by Matt Cashore

Conor Biggio is a switch-hitting sophomore outfielder from Houston, Tex. In the latest installment in the “Covering the Bases” series, I spoke with Conor about some of his rituals on the diamond and his interests off the field.

Q: Who was your favorite baseball player as a kid?

A: I’m kind of biased because my dad played in the MLB, but yeah, my favorite player was Craig Biggio.

Q: Who is your favorite pro team?

A: (After a brief hesitation and laugh) The Astros.

Q: Other than your dad, whom did you look to as a role model?

A: My mom was definitely my role model.

Q:  Describe your pre-game ritual.

A: I always put on the left of everything first. The left sock, the left shoe, the left pant leg, the left batting glove…I don’t know, I’m weird.

Q: Do you have a batting box ritual?

A: Not really. I usually just take a practice swing right before I step in with my left foot, and I get ready to go.

Q: What is your favorite pre-game meal?

A: I like in the morning when we get breakfast from Einstein’s. I love the little breakfast sandwiches and the cinnamon donuts we get.

Q: What is your favorite moment of your baseball career so far?

A: It would probably be winning the state title my senior year of high school. My dad was the coach and my brother was on the team as well. Just having us all on the field at the same time was a really special moment for me.

Q: Is it easier to hit a 90 mph fastball or a wiffleball curveball?

A: Wow, I don’t know. It depends how good the wiffleball curveball is because it can be pretty tough to hit. I guess I’m going to have to go with the wiffleball curveball.

Q: What is your major and a favorite class?

A: I don’t have a major at the moment, but I am in the College of Arts and Letters. My favorite class right now is probably my War and Terror class. It’s pretty interesting.

Q: Do you have any hobbies off the field?

A: Not really, just hanging out with friends and being a typical college kid.

Q: What is your favorite spot on campus?

A: Probably my bed. Yeah, definitely my bed.

Q: What is the best nickname on the team and who has it?

A: There are a lot. Trey Mancini has a good one. We call him “Boom.” Eric Jagielo is “Jags.” We call Mac [Mac Hudgins] “Swag Hudge.” All of those are pretty good.

About UNDerground

Welcome to UNDerground, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame athletics. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the athletic department, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Fighting Irish on YouTube

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.