Skip to content

Reaney, Chiang Build Irish Point Total

Mar 24, 2013, 12:56 AM EDT

Emma Reaney 100m Breaststroke Emma Reaney 100m Breaststroke

It was another big day for the Notre Dame women’s swimming and diving program as the Irish picked up another two All-America honors as Emma Reaney registered her sixth career All-American citation while senior Jenny Chiang collected her first ever All-America scroll. Reaney’s fifth place performance paired with Chiang’s 12th place showing earned the Irish an additional 19 points in day 2 of the NCAA Championships. Notre Dame now sits in 17th place with 36 points. Those 36 points are the third most in the history of the program, trailing only the 2000 total of 74.5 points and the 2002 total of 52 points.

source:

Jenny Chiang

Chiang capped off her four-year Notre Dame career in style as she dove to her first ever All-America honor, rebounding after a disappointing 1-meter session the day before. Chiang recorded the highest finish for an Irish diver off the 3-meter board at the NCAA Championships in over a decade. Back in 2002, Heather Mattingly finished in 8th place from the 3-meter distance.

“I don’t think I could think of a better way to end my diving career,” said Chiang, “Going in I was a little nervous because I didn’t too well last year. [My career] was a rollercoaster but overall I am very pleased with my season. Right now it is a high.”

source:

Emma Reaney with her award for the 100m breaststroke.

Looking ahead to Day 3 of the meet, Emma Reaney is the highest seeded Irish swimmer as she is seeded seventh in the 200 breaststroke. Reaney has a good feeling about the race tomorrow as she hopes to add another top-8 finish to her resume.

“I didn’t take my [sprint] races out as fast as I wanted [on Friday],” said Reaney, “So, the positive side of that is my 200 should be really good as long as I keep steady and my stroke count together.”

Also highlighting Day 3 is Kelly Ryan’s attempt to make back-to-back “A” Finals in the 200 backstroke. Ryan finished seventh a season ago in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:54.16 in the finals and 1:53.67 in the preliminary session.

The Irish will look to score 17 more points tomorrow, which would give the Irish 53 points for the meet, the most in Notre Dame women’s swimming and diving history.

  1. babah2013 - Mar 24, 2013 at 1:30 AM

    To: Andrew Bartolini.
    Thank you for this updated NCAA report on UND results for women’s swimming. I love the pic of E. Reaney with her 100 breastroke award and very proud of her (she’s my grdaughter). diana

    Reply
Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

About UNDerground

Welcome to UNDerground, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame athletics. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the athletic department, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.