Skip to content

Two-Minute Power Play with Sam Herr

Jan 2, 2014, 11:39 PM EST

9353381

Anna Gonzalez, the official 2013-14 hockey beat writer for the Irish UNDerground blog, is currently a sophomore at the University of Notre Dame. Over the course of the year Anna will bring you insight from within the student section, interviews with Fighting Irish players and stories from inside the team circle. You can follow Anna (and the rest of the Notre Dame student beat writing staff) on twitter at @JrNDBloggers.

Sophomore left winger Sam Herr is looking to be this season’s most improved player. As a freshman, he played in 13 games and he recorded one assist. This season, Herr has already played in more than 13 games and is one of the team’s leading scorers. Here’s the Two-Minute Power Play with Sam Herr…

If someone wrote a book about you, what would it be called? “Grinders Grind” or “Keep on Trucking”
If you didn’t play hockey, what sport would you play? Golf.
If you had a time machine, when would you go to? Probably the late 90s or early 2000s, so I could see Gretsky, Yzerman and Michael Jordan play. Good sports era right there.
What’s your favorite meal? Can’t go wrong with pizza and wings.
What is your favorite Notre Dame tradition? Is it cheesy to say the tradition of excellence? Or let’s go with the Monogram Club.
What’s your favorite thing about Coach Jackson? I like his determination to beat every opponent no matter the hype about each team. Whether it’s playing Minnesota or Merrimack, he treats them all the same.
If you had a million dollars, what would you do with it? Buy a nice house for me to go to. The family could visit too. And my parents always said that if I were making money, they’d want a house in LA.
Do you have any interesting talents? I’m better than Steven Fogarty at “NHL.”
Do you have any superstitions? I gotta get a good luck text from my mom the morning of a game.
What is your favorite place to study on campus? Probably just room in DeBart. That’s been common lately.
Who is your celebrity crush? Mila Kunis.
What’s your favorite sport to watch? Other than hockey, I’d say college basketball. I like watching Duke, because I like Coach K’s fundamentals and the way he coaches.
Would you rather be Jack Swarbrick or Fr. Jenkins for a day? Swarbrick to see all the athletics that he gets to deal with and the people he gets to meet.
What was your favorite school subject when you were a kid? When I was a kid, my favorite school subject was probably English because I liked spelling bees. I would get so mad if I didn’t win one. One year, “solidify” got me. I don’t know why! It just did. Still to this day, I remember it.
What do you miss most about home? The dog. I have a West Highland terrier named Otto.
What is your favorite place in the entire world? The family’s house in Minocqua, Wisconsin.
What four people would you want to go golfing with? Tiger Woods, Michael Jordan, Vincent Chase, and Jonathan Toews.
What do you think is the best thing since sliced bread? Delivery pizza.
What was the best lesson your parents ever taught you? Don’t sell yourself short.
What is the weirdest piece of clothing that you own? I wouldn’t call these weird by any means but they’re probably the most bizarre: these Grinch pajama pants that I cut into shorts. They’re probably the most out-there of my articles of clothing. Come Christmastime, I’ll wear those a lot.

About UNDerground

Welcome to UNDerground, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame athletics. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the athletic department, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Fighting Irish on YouTube