Skip to content

“Covering the Bases” with Mac Hudgins

Feb 25, 2013, 9:12 AM EST

Mac Hudgins (photo by Allison Wagner) Mac Hudgins (photo by Allison Wagner)

Edward “Mac” Hudgins is a sophomore outfielder who lives in Alumni Hall on campus. He wears #13, throws right-handed, and bats from both sides of the plate. In Notre Dame’s series finale at Tulane, he was 2-for-4 with an RBI double. I recently got a chance to ask Mac a few questions to add to the “Covering the Bases” series.

Q: What’s your major?

A: Business undeclared, but probably finance.

Q: Do you have a favorite class so far?

A: I had a really interesting history seminar freshman year.

Q: Have you been playing baseball you whole life?

A: Yes.

Q: Did you play outfield in little league?

A: No, I played shortstop and catcher.

Q: When did you make the switch?

A: High school.

Q: Did your coach put you out there?

A: He did, he did…got demoted.

Q: Well it seems like it worked out well. Do you have a favorite major league team?

A: The Nationals.

Q: Where are you from?

A: Richmond, VA. What about you?

Q: Northern Virginia, but I’m actually a Mariners fan since the Nats weren’t in Washington at the beginning of my fanhood. They’re doing pretty well now though.

A: Yeah I hopped on that bandwagon.

Q: Do you have a favorite player or is there a player who you see as a role model?

A: When I was really little, Chipper Jones.

Q: Are you into stats at all? Like sabermetrics?

A: Yeah, yeah, I read Moneyball and really liked it. I try not to think about it too much though when I’m playing.

Q: Is there a story behind #13?

A: Yeah I got it in eighth grade, the #12 jersey was ripped, so they gave me #13.

Q: You don’t think it’s unlucky?

A: (Laughing) No, hopefully not.

Q: Were you considering playing baseball anywhere else for college?

A: Yeah, a couple, but I mean, once Notre Dame showed interest, it was pretty much over.

Q: Do you have interests outside of baseball?

A: I like reading, and I like freestyle rapping.

Q: Do you have a favorite rapper?

A: I love Eminem. Me and [Conor Biggio] love doing the battle scenes from “Eight Mile”

About UNDerground

Welcome to UNDerground, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame athletics. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the athletic department, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Fighting Irish on YouTube