Skip to content

Weaving Her Own Legacy

Mar 7, 2013, 11:19 AM EST

Lindsey Weaver

Lindsey Weaver is not your typical freshman.

She has played in the U.S. Women’s Open and also shot a 59 in competition. All this and she has not even declared a major yet.

Weaver grew up in Ohio and she said that her dad had a big influence on her affinity towards golf growing up.

“My dad used to take me to this little par-3 course when I was younger,” Weaver said. “He taught how to play and would literally carry me from shot to shot because I was so little. So my love for the sport began there. My dad is actually still my coach and he is still influencing my golf game.”

Weaver also has a sister, Lauren, who currently plays at Northwestern. She said that they were very competitive growing up and that helped them both improve as they got older.

“My sister is a senior at Northwestern and also plays golf,” Weaver said. “We were super competitive growing up. Sometimes when we were younger one of us would end up in tears at the end of a round. My dad was really competitive too so he would encourage competition between me and my sister.”

At the age of 11, the Weavers moved to Arizona to help facilitate the golf games of both Weaver girls.

“Being able to play all year round was major help,” Weaver said. “Our goal was to get good enough so we could earn scholarships to a Division I school and that happened so the move was worth it.”

Weaver said that, although she has had tremendous success, she never felt as if she was good. Any time she felt herself become content she would make herself set new goals to achieve.

This kind of mentality has led her to become one of the elite freshmen in the country.

“I never really felt like I was good enough,” Weaver said. “I always knew that there was something I could improve on so I never was complacent and thought ‘I am good.’ I still have goals that I want to accomplish and I have a long way to go.”

Weaver said that one of her idols growing up was Annika Sorenstam. She admired her drive and competitive spirit, so it is fitting that, like Sorenstam, Weaver shot a 59.

Weaver and Sorenstam are the only women in the history of golf to shoot a 59 in a competitive round.

That magical round came at the 2012 Ping Junior Interclub Match on the Apache Course at Desert Mountain.

Weaver said that she could simply do no wrong that day.

“I was just in the zone during that round,” Weaver said. “I knew every putt was going in and I hit every green so my ball striking was also really on.  It was incredible and unforgettable.”

Weaver knew that she needed an eagle as she climbed to the final tee. The 18th was a relatively short par-5 and she knew an eagle was not out of the question.

She hit a solid drive to the middle of the fairway and then launched a hybrid right at the pin. She knew it was going to be close when the ball left the club head and she was right. The ball fell from the sky and settled approximately 10 feet from the hole.

Everyone watching knew what was at stake and the tension was palpable.

“I had a ten-foot putt and I was really nervous over the ball because I knew what it was for and my parents, who were there watching, knew what it was for. At the same time, I was also very confident because I had been making everything all day and it just went in,” Weaver said.

This was one of the great rounds in amateur golf and it added to the list of accomplishments in Weaver’s amateur career.

Weaver was a highly-touted recruit coming out of high school. As the No. 3 recruit in the nation according to Junior Golf Scoreboard, Weaver was recruited by all of the heavyweights of women’s collegiate golf.

The likes of Northwestern, Duke, Arizona and Virginia all came calling, but she fell in love with Notre Dame when she visited the campus.

“I looked at a lot of schools, but Notre Dame was the only one that I got the ‘wow’ effect from,” Weaver said. “After my visit, I left here knowing this was the place for me because no other school could compare.”

Weaver had a successful fall in her first season for the Irish. She participated in four tournaments, had a scoring average of 71.50 and finished second in two tournaments.

Weaver has the potential to go far in the game of golf, but she keeps her goals and expectations on the small scale and just tries to get better every day.

“My goals for the spring are pretty simple. I want to improve my driving accuracy, which will hopefully happen.”

Weaver will have a “home game” this weekend as the Irish travel to Mesa, Ariz. to participate in the Clover Cup at Longbow Golf Club.

Below, check out Fighting Irish Digital Media’s feature on Weaver from this past fall.

About UNDerground

Welcome to UNDerground, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame athletics. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the athletic department, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Fighting Irish on YouTube