Skip to content

And The Winner Is…

Apr 28, 2013, 8:58 PM EDT

The 12th Annual O.S.C.A.R.S. will be held this coming Wednesday, May 1 to celebrate the academic and leadership accomplishments made by Notre Dame student-athletes over the 2012-2013 year. This year’s show will be very similar to last year’s, but a new award has been added to the mix.

The Tweetmaster Award will go to the individual or group with the best Twitter account. Nominations were taken over the course of a few weeks. Voting for the award will take place at the show, live via text. The nominees are:

Sarah Voigt (Women’s Soccer) – “I was both surprised and flattered to be nominated for Tweetmaster, it was really nice to hear that at least a couple people think I’m good at tweeting. However, I am not capaigning to win this award, and my reasoning for that is because I don’t believe that changing my Twitter game would be a positive thing. If  I win, that would be a great honor, but if I don’t win, I will still continue to tweet real life. As Macklemore says, ‘Make money, don’t let the money make you. Change the game, don’t let the game change you.'” @sarahmargaret01

Melissa Scott (Women’s Swimming and Diving) – “I was more suprised to get a nomination than anything else! All of my teammates and I are avid tweeters, so really any one of us could have been nominated! For the most part, I think I tweet so much because of the team. Everyone has such funny and witty tweets about school and practice, and I think it’s more of an influence and enthusiasm than anything else!” @melissaaascott

Louis Nix (Football) – Louis was unavailable for a quote, probably because he’s been so busy amusing the Twitter world with his funny and thought-provoking tweets. @1IrishChocolate

ND Fab Five (Men’s Tennis freshmen) – “We are so honored to be one of the finalists for this prestigious award that is so rich in history! All of the hard work and sleepless nights have finally paid off. We really hope our loyal fans come through for us during the live voting. If they do and we win, there may or may not be a surprise victory video involving Kenny [Sabacinski] wrestling another koala bear.” @NDFabFive

Oye Eyeguokan (Men’s Track & Field) – “It kind of caught me by surprise a little, didn’t think I would actually get nominated. I won’t be doing any campaigning though. I try to stay out of any spotlights. I just tweet what’s on my mind because I thought that’s what Twitter was for and I guess people find it funny.” @YeOnTheBrain

The show will also feature Grant Van De Casteele and Max Lachowecki of Men’s Soccer and hosts of “Grant & Max 1080” (watch their videos here) as hosts of the show. The big question is will they have new blazers for the O.S.C.A.R.S.?

For more information about the O.S.C.A.R.S. visit the Student Welfare & Development website or Through Irish Eyes (the student-athlete blog).

About UNDerground

Welcome to UNDerground, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame athletics. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the athletic department, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Fighting Irish on YouTube