Skip to content

Freshman Friday: Ben Ostlie

Oct 12, 2013, 12:30 PM EST

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be introducing you to the five freshman on the hockey team. Actually, they’ll be introducing themselves. Here’s your chance to learn a little bit more about Ben Ostlie, one of the two freshman defensemen on the hockey team. Ostlie is from Edina, Minnesota, which you could say is a bit of a breeding ground for Notre Dame hockey players.

Tell us about yourself.

I have two brothers: one older and one younger. Nathan is 22 and Noah is 16. Besides hockey, I love to golf and take naps. I’ve been playing hockey since I was 4.

Why did you choose to come to Notre Dame?

I chose Notre Dame because it has a great hockey program and good academics.

What are your personal goals for the next four years of your life?

My goals for the next four years are to graduate from Notre Dame and become the best hockey player I can be.

Ice Cream or Froyo?

Ice Cream

Subway or Jimmy John’s?

Jimmy John’s

East Coast or West Coast?

West Coast

If you had a time machine, when and where would you go to?

The 1920’s to the Great Gatsby house.

What is your warm-up playlist?

It changes a lot. Sometimes it’s rap, other times it’s country. I’m not very picky!

About UNDerground

Welcome to UNDerground, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame athletics. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the athletic department, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Fighting Irish on YouTube