Skip to content

Freshman Friday: Chad Katunar

Oct 18, 2013, 7:56 PM EST

This second installment of “Freshman Friday” features the 6’5″ freshman goaltender from Victoria, British Columbia. At the beginning of the season, Coach Jackson said that Chad Katunar has the potential to be a great college hockey goaltender. Here’s your chance to get to know a little more about him.
Tell us about yourself.
Besides hockey, I like playing other sports, and I enjoy spending time with friends and family. My parents names are Fred and Pam and I have a 15 year old sister named Blaire. I started playing hockey when I was 10 years old, and started playing goalie when I was 11.
Why did you choose to come to Notre Dame?
I chose to come to Notre Dame because it is the perfect combination of athletics and academics, and we have beautiful facilities here. I want to win a championship, and I think we have a great chance to do that here.
What are your personal goals for the next four years of your life?
Some personal goals I have over the next four years are to win a championship, to continue improving as a goaltender, to do well in the classroom, and to get in better physical shape off the ice.

Ice Cream or Froyo?

Neither, I’m on a diet.

Subway or Jimmy John’s?

Subway

East Coast or West Coast?

West Coast

If you had a time machine, when and where would you go to?

If I had a time machine, I would go back ten years and bet on sports events I already knew the outcome of.

What is your warm-up playlist?

My warm up playlist: Snap Yo Fingers [by Lil John], Bojangles [by Pitbull], Reptile’s Theme [by Skrillex].

About UNDerground

Welcome to UNDerground, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame athletics. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the athletic department, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Fighting Irish on YouTube